Home :: News & Events :: Upcoming Events :: 2015 Human Rights Awards Reception
10 December 2015
2015 Human Rights Awards Reception

Join us for the annual UNA-NCA Human Rights Awards Reception honoring outstanding leaders in the human rights community and celebrating the 70th Anniversary of the United Nations.

In honor of the 67th anniversary of the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, UNA-NCA will recognize individuals and organizations working to improve human rights in their communities and around the world.

Thursday, December 10, 2015
Reception: 6:00 - 7:00 pm
Program: 7:00 - 9:00 pm

Gold Room, Rayburn House Office Building
Independence Avenue SW and First Street SW
Washington, DC 20515
Registration has closed for this event. To join the waiting list, please This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

This year's honorees are:

Louis B. Sohn Human Rights Award
Presented to
Ambassador Mark P. Lagon (ret.), President, Freedom House
Presented by Elisa Massimino, President & CEO, Human Rights First

Perdita Huston Human Rights Award
Dr. Kathleen Kuehnast, Senior Gender Advisor, United States Institute of Peace
Presented by Dr. Nora Dudwick, Director of Gender and Social Inclusion, Millennium Challenge Corporation

F. Allen "Tex" Harris Human Rights Diplomacy Award 
Presented to
Dr. Wesley Reisser, Senior Foreign Affairs Officer, Office of Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs,
International Organization Affairs Bureau, State Department
Presented by Assistant Secretary for International Organization Affairs, Ms. Bathsheba Crocker

Distinguished Community Human Rights Award
Presented to
Martha's Table
Accepted by Patty Stonesifer, President and CEO
Presented by Mr. David C. Simmons, Chief Administrative Law Judge, District of Columbia Commission on Human Rights

Admission Tickets
Young Professional/Student: $50
Non-Member Young Professional/Student*: $70
Students under the age of 25 are eligible for free UNA-NCA membership.
Member: $70
Non-Member*: $90
Sponsor (Individual/organization name listed in the program): $100
Non-member Sponsor*: $120
*Non-member tickets include UNA-NCA membership

Honorary Committee Members

Ms. Goli Ameri, President & Interim CEO, Center for Global Engagement
Ms. Sanam Anderlini
, Co-Founder and Executive Director, ICAN
Dr. Anthony C. Arend
, Director, Master of Science in Foreign Service, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University
John B. Bellinger III
, Partner, National Security and Public
International Law Practices, Arnold & Porter LLP
Congressman Donald Beyer
, Representative for Virginia's 8th District
Dr. Susan Bissell
,  Director a.i., The New Global Partnership - ending violence against children, UNICEF
Mr. Mark Bromley
, Council Chair, Council for Global Equality
Dr. Chantal de Jonge Oudraat
, President, Women in International Security
Delegation of the European Union to the United States
Ambassador Paula J. Dobriansky
, Senior Fellow, The Future of Diplomacy Project, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University
Congressman Sam Farr, Representative for California's
20th Congressional District
Ms. Carla Koppell
, Chief Strategy Officer, US Agency for International Development
Congresswoman Barbara Lee
, Representative for California's 13th Congressional District
Ms. Nancy Linborg
, President, U.S. Institute of Peace
Ambassador Michael Guest
, Senior Advisor, Council for Global Equality
Congressman Jim McGovern, Representative for Massachusetts' 2nd Congressional District
Ms. Karen Mulhauser
, Founder, Mulhauser & Associates; Chair, UNA-USA
Mr. William H. Taft IV
, Of Counsel Resident, Fried Frank LLP
Ambassador David O'Sullivan
, Head of the Delegation of the
European Union to the United States
Mr. Donald Steinberg
, President & CEO, World Learning
Ms. Jennifer Windsor
, Chief Executive Officer, Women for Women International
Dr. Abiodun Williams
, President, The Hague Institute for Global Justice

 Thank You to Our Sponsors

Organization Sponsors





Individual Sponsors
Ambassador Donald T. Bliss (ret.) and Nancy Bliss
A. Edward Elmendorf
F. A. "Tex" Harris and Jeanie Harris
Melissa Kaplan
T. Kumar
Kim Watson
Sponsorship opportunities available here.